TEACHING RESOURCES

The following resources have been created and made available by Hachette Schools.

swimming book cover.jpg
SWIMMING AGAINST THE STORM

 

Set in the swamps of Louisiana this exciting adventure story combines with a hopeful message about fighting climate change and caring for the earth and its animals.

These reading questions and activities are aimed at KS2 pupils and cover literacy objectives, focusing on reading comprehension and inference, but also provide cross-curricular links.

Asset 20.png
roared book cover_edited.jpg
WHEN THE MOUNTAINS ROARED
 
When the Mountains Roared is a vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

When the Mountains Roared is suitable for teaching to children aged 9–11, either in class or during allotted extra-curricular sessions. The reading questions and activities suggested here cover literacy objectives, focusing on reading comprehension and inference, but also provide suggestions for cross-curricular links. They work as an introduction to the themes and ideas within the book, taking students’ understanding of the text to a new level and inspiring them to read further.

Asset 20.png
RUNNING ON THE ROOF OF THE WORLD
 

Detailed reading notes and lesson activities for Running on the Roof of the World, a richly atmospheric story of survival and hope set in Tibet and India, filled with friendship, love and courage. 

Aimed at upper KS2 readers and above.

red panda rescue cover image.jpg
the adventure club

 

Tilly has no plans for the summer holidays and is dreading months of boredom – that is until she becomes part of The Adventure Club and wins a place to go track and monitor endangered red pandas in Nepal!

In the Himalayas, she meets other members of the club, rides on yaks, plants a bamboo forest and even spots the secretive red panda. But then the red panda Tilly and her team has been monitoring disappears.

 

Will Tilly be able to help find it, or will her first-ever adventure end in disaster?

Asset 20.png