THE BOOKS

Discover Jess Butterworth's books...

 


Do you like exploring, animals and adventure? Then join The Adventure Club! A brand new illustrated series for younger readers about animals and adventure from much-loved author Jess Butterworth – writer of classic adventure stories in vibrantly described settings.

BOOKS FOR 7+

TIGER IN TROUBLE

 

It’s time for another Adventure Club trip! When Tilly learns that the monsoon rains in India are late and the tigers in a local sanctuary have disappeared searching for water, Tilly is worried. The sanctuary is surrounded by busy roads and cities. It’s not safe for tigers. She decides that this is a job for The Adventure Club. 

She gathers the team – Julia, Steve, Leo and Anita – and they travel to India in search of the tigers.

At the sanctuary Tilly encounters elephants, antelopes and crocodiles … but where are the tigers?

Join the Adventure Club with Tilly to find out!

Packed full of illustrations and set as Tilly’s own diary, this new series is perfect for young readers who are beginning to read on their own. 

tiger in trouble cover image.jpg
RED PANDA RESCUE

 

The first book in an exciting new series aimed at younger readers, perfect for children who love and care about animals and the environment. 

Tilly has no plans for the summer holidays and is dreading months of boredom -- that is until she becomes part of The Adventure Club and wins a place to go track and monitor endangered red pandas in Nepal!

In the Himalayas, she meets other members of the club, rides on yaks, plants a bamboo forest and even spots the secretive red panda. 

But then the red panda Tilly and her team has been monitoring disappears. Will Tilly be able to help find it, or will her first ever adventure end in disaster?

 
JESS'S ORIGINAL SERIES


Standalone adventure novels set in the wild places that exist on our planet.  

BOOKS FOR 9+

 
 
 
INTO THE VOLCANO

 

Vivi and Seb live halfway across the world from each other, living completely separate lives, until a terrible event unexpectedly makes their paths collide. 

Seb's best friend Clay was injured in a shooting, and Seb believes there's a rainbow pool in the heart of Yellowstone National Park that will help heal him heal. 

Meanwhile, Vivi is feeling lost, wishing she could find a way to honour her grandmother, who didn't survive the same shooting.

When they meet at the memorial and Seb tells Vivi what he wants to do, Vivi is convinced that her grandmother would have wanted her to go with Seb to help his friend.

But the park is filled with dangerous creatures, and when Seb is injured in one of the volcanic springs, it becomes a race for survival as they try and make their wish and find their way out of the wilderness.

Told through multiple viewpoints and set between the US and the UK, this is another heartfelt middle grade adventure from award-winning author Jess Butterworth

into the volcano cover image.jpg
wilderness cover.jpg
WHERE THE WILDERNESS LIVES

 

An epic race for survival that follows four children and their dog through the treacherous waterways, dense forests and deep, dark wilderness. 

Cara and her siblings live on a canal boat in Wales. One day, as they are fishing with magnets in a drained canal lock, trying to clean it up, they pull out a mysterious locked safe. 

That night, a group of criminals come after the safe. The children flee, travelling with the boat as far as the canal goes before continuing into the forest on foot.

 

Will Cara and her siblings be able to survive in the mountains with no parents, pursuers hot on their tail, and nothing but their wits, their bravery and one very large dog to help?

SWIMMING AGAINST THE STORM

 

An adventure story set in the swamplands of Louisiana about sisters, rising sea-levels and saving the environment, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John.

Our land is sinking. It’s disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to save it.

Twelve-year-old Eliza and her sister Avery have lived their entire lives in a small fishing village on the coast of Louisiana, growing up alongside turtles, pelicans and porpoises. But now, with sea levels rising, their home is at risk of being swept away.

Determined to save the land, Eliza and her younger sister Avery secretly go searching in the swamp for the dangerous, wolf-like loup-garou. If they can prove this legendary creature exists, they’re sure that the government will have to protect its habitat – and their community.

But there’s one problem: the loup-garou has never been seen before. And with a tropical storm approaching and the sisters deep, deep in the swampland, soon it’s not just their home at risk, but their lives as well…

swimming book cover.jpg
roared book cover_edited.jpg
WHEN THE MOUNTAINS ROARED

 

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

I thought we’d live here forever … but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.

When Ruby’s dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home – not without her mum there.

Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up. 

But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them – if she can only overcome her fears…

"I loved this book, which is about loss and starting a new life somewhere new, and about animals. Lots of them"

— The Book Witch

RUNNING ON THE ROOF OF THE WORLD

 

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl’s thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12. 

There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. ‘Dalai Lama.’ 

Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash’s parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet – and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India. 

And so, with a backpack of Tash’s father’s mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

— Type Writered

This is a fantastic book which is relevant to today's crises: refugees, conflict and children growing up in war zones. Although there's danger, gruelling journeys and battles to survive, there is also hope, and hope is the essence of Tash's story.